This is the story of our lives,
filled with promise and troubled minds.


echostep started off as the alternative music adventure of Cleveland, Ohio based songwriter James Patrick Young. His debut EP 'Pictures in the Sky' was released on Friday, January 13th 2017. Soon after the release, James transformed the project into a three piece band featuring Nate Baker on guitar and Marc Sotak on drums. In 2018 echostep introduced Mike Demagall on bass and are looking to showcase their new sound with several live performances followed by a new release.



Right out of the gate, the self-analyzing ‘Pictures in the Sky’ introduces echostep as an endeavor with a sound fairly unique unto itself. Young’s vocals are almost within the realm of Phil Collins, but his instrumentation walks a closer line to someone like Brian Eno. Beginning as a very atmospheric, eerie piece, ‘Pictures in the Sky’ eventually evolves into a rock-esque creation that puts Young’s anthemic vocals and lyrics and its center.

Brett David Stewart

The Independent Spotlight
The effectively eerie “Pictures in the Sky” features hushed vocals and pulsating synths, and the piano ballad “I’m Okay” has a subtle intensity to it.

Jeff Niesel

Cleveland Scene Magazine
Sweet and evasive electro-pop. This EP reveals a fresh title song and cool remixes.

Side-Line Magazine